It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Our top 5! (Highly Recommended by Mrs. Bloom and Ms. Whitt)
Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOHost)Biography Collection Complete offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different sources. Courtesy Ocean State Libraries.
Bloom's Literary Reference OnlineThis resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Note: the login for this database is the OPPOSITE of our regular logins.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Books to Use! Come to the Library!
•British Writers: Volumes 1-III
•Concise Dictionary of British Literary Biography: Volumes 1-8 (this resource is duplicated in unabridged format in the Literature Resource Center database)
Using our library’s resources, research the author’s life and write a brief (two pages maximum) biographical summary of the author. As you research, pay close attention to important events that may have impacted or influenced that author’s life, as well as any political or historical movements in which your author participated. This biographical sketch must include in-text MLA documentation for all quoted and paraphrased information, as well as a Works Cited page. We will spend some time reviewing and practicing both paraphrasing and documentation skills.
This project requires you to document all your sources and attribute all information included in your essay that is not considered common knowledge. All information quoted, paraphrased, or summarized from an outside source must include in-text citation and a corresponding entry in the Works Cited Page.
To review guidelines about and strategies for avoiding plagiarism, visit and read the following pages, all from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab: