Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Science: ES Databases

Environmentalism Timeline

Databases

GreenFILE - Information covering aspects of human impact on the environment. Contains scholarly, government and general-interest titles that includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done to minimize these effects. GreenFILE draws on the connections between environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Choose the full text option or ask the librarian if you need help accessing an abstract.

Science in Context - Topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures/illustrations, articles from magazines and academic journals and links to web sites. Includes a Health World module.  
Science Online - Includes more than 6,300 diagrams, illustrations and images; hundreds of videos and flash animations; more than 1,000 science experiments and activities; biographies and more content.   
Opposing Viewpoint in Context - Great source if you need to research a variety of viewpoints on a particular topic.   
Learn360 - Collection of videos, video clips, speeches, newsreels.

SIRS Knowledge Source Includes: SIRS Issues Researcher (Leading Issues); SIRS Government Reporter (Historic and Government Documents, Directories; SIRS Renaissance (Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities); and SIRS Web Select (Editorially Selected Web Sites). Cross search or select a specific database to search.

 

Student Resources in Context To browse use "Topics" tab from the left OR just enter your term in the search box.

Science Databases from PLCH - A library card from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County is needed to access the PLCH databases.          

 

Scholarly Peer-Reviewed Articles

Searching in JSTOR

Need a Password??

Visit our library page on Schoology and look for the passwords document in Resources.

Cite Your Sources!!!

Citing your sources doesn't have to be hard. Just remember to get the information while you are in the source! Then use:

Citation Machine - NoodleBib Express

If that doesn't work for you, try these sources.

OWL - Writing Center at Purdue 

Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online

Need Help??

We're here to assist you. Don't hesitate to ask for help!

librarian@7hills.org