ABC-CLIO American GovernmentThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.
ABC-CLIO American HistoryThis link opens in a new windowFrom the explorers of the Americas to the issues of today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.
ABC-CLIO World at WarThis link opens in a new windowRecently revised, improved and expanded, this user-friendly database is an invaluable online resource that presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world's identity from its beginning to today.
Americans at WarThis link opens in a new windowCovers major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front. Illustrated articles cover both biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations, monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music. General audiences.
Covers major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front. Illustrated articles cover both biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations, monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music. General audiences. 4 volumes. c. 2005.
Critical Issues in American HistoryThis link opens in a new windowAn interactive, multimedia history of the United States from the Revolution to the present, sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.
Dictionary of American HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. 10 volumes. c. 2003.
This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. 10 volumes. c. 2003.
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military HistoryThis link opens in a new windowA two-volume survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. The alphabetically arranged entries include biographies as well as discussions of campaigns and strategy; battles, skirmishes, and naval actions; weaponry; political issues and events; and how the European powers participated in the conflict. For students, historians, and general readers. c. 2006.
A two-volume survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. The alphabetically arranged entries include biographies as well as discussions of campaigns and strategy; battles, skirmishes, and naval actions; weaponry; political issues and events; and how the European powers participated in the conflict. For students, historians, and general readers. c. 2006.
Provides a concise history of the U.S. government and political scene throughout American history, with a particular emphasis on how government and politics effects, and is affected by, social change. 2 volumes. c. 2008.
Encyclopedia of World BiographyThis link opens in a new windowA multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. 23 volumes. c. 2004.
Milestone Documents in American HistoryThis link opens in a new windowContains primary source documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.
Women in World History: A Biographical EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowThis source contains biographical information about women throughout time and regions. Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age, from every walk of life-artists, pirates, scientists, athletes, philanthropists, adventurers, politicians, pacifists, saints, and courtesans, even those famous for just being famous. Individual, collective, and joint entries (i.e. Astronauts: Women in Space, Egyptian Feminism, Siege Warfare and Women, etc.) are included. 17 volumes. c. 2002.
This source contains biographical information about women throughout time and regions. Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age, from every walk of life-artists, pirates, scientists, athletes, philanthropists, adventurers, politicians, pacifists, saints, and courtesans, even those famous for just being famous. Individual, collective, and joint entries (i.e. Astronauts: Women in Space, Egyptian Feminism, Siege Warfare and Women, etc.) are included. 17 volumes. c. 2002.
