It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English Home: English Databases
Use this guide to help you with all your English class assignments and research. Select the tab for your class for more specific help!
Our top 5! (Highly Recommended by Mrs. Bloom and Ms. Whitt) + Bonus Dictionary!
Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOHost)Biography Collection Complete offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different sources. Courtesy Ocean State Libraries.
Bloom's Literary Reference OnlineThis resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database are more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, 5,000 synopses of literary works and hundreds of images and videos.
Note: the login for this database is the OPPOSITE of our regular logins.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.