Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaThis link opens in a new windowIlluminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes profiles of contemporary leaders who belong to various political, ethnic, and religious groups, as well as notable individuals associated with business, law, science, social issues, sports, entertainment, literature, and the fine and performing arts.
Illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Includes profiles of contemporary leaders who belong to various political, ethnic, and religious groups, as well as notable individuals associated with business, law, science, social issues, sports, entertainment, literature, and the fine and performing arts. 2 volumes. c. 2008.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific BiographyThis link opens in a new windowProvides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. 27 volumes. c. 2008.
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented. 27 volumes. c. 2008.
Encyclopedia of World BiographyThis link opens in a new windowA multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. 23 volumes. c. 2004.
Women in World History: A Biographical EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowThis source contains biographical information about women throughout time and regions. Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age, from every walk of life-artists, pirates, scientists, athletes, philanthropists, adventurers, politicians, pacifists, saints, and courtesans, even those famous for just being famous. Individual, collective, and joint entries (i.e. Astronauts: Women in Space, Egyptian Feminism, Siege Warfare and Women, etc.) are included. 17 volumes. c. 2002.
This source contains biographical information about women throughout time and regions. Covers women of historical interest worldwide, from around 3100 BCE to the modern age, from every walk of life-artists, pirates, scientists, athletes, philanthropists, adventurers, politicians, pacifists, saints, and courtesans, even those famous for just being famous. Individual, collective, and joint entries (i.e. Astronauts: Women in Space, Egyptian Feminism, Siege Warfare and Women, etc.) are included. 17 volumes. c. 2002.
Print Reference Books - General Biographical Information
Biographical Information in Print Reference Books
Below is a list of general print resources for biographical information. None of these titles are available electronically. You have to come to the library to use them.
For suggestions on how to locate biographical information by subject, please see individual course pages or go to a Subject Specific LibGuide. Look at the Navigation box to the left to identify the appropriate subject area.
